Connect with us

News Naija

INEC Chairman Releases List of States Where Governorship Elections Will Not Hold.

The chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Mahmood Yakubu, has announced that the March 18 governorship elections will hold in 28 states.

Mahmood disclosed this during the meeting of the inter-agency consultative committee on election security which was held at the INEC conference room, in Abuja, on Tuesday, March, 14.

The INEC boss said the governorship election will not hold in eight states. He explained that the guber elections in the affected states are held off-cycle and not during the general election.

The affected states are:

Anambra state

Bayelsa state

Edo state

Ekiti state

Imo state

Kogi state

Ondo state

Osun state

“The Governorship elections will hold in 28 States of the Federation. As you are aware, Governorship elections in eight States (Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Ondo and Osun States) are held off-cycle and therefore not conducted during the General Election. “However, elections will be conducted for all the 993 State constituencies nationwide,” the INEC chairman said.

He added that the March 18 polls involve more constituencies than the Presidential and National Assembly elections.

“Unlike the last elections involving 470 constituencies (1 Presidential, 109 Senatorial Districts and 360 House of Representatives seats), the State elections will involve 1,021 constituencies (28 Governorship and 993 State Assembly seats),” the INEC chairman said.

Share This Post On WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & Telegram